Historic Buildings

Teigarhorn at Berufjördur

Closed for public visiting

The old house at Teigarhorn was constructed around 1880 for Niels Peder Weywadt (1814-1883), the manager of Örum & Wulff's store in Djúpavogur. The dormer with flat columns in the Neoclassical style gives a strong character to the house. Work is currently being done on the building, so it is closed.

The house has a stone basement and a two-story structure above ground level, with storage space in the attic. The ground floor of the house has an area of about 65 square meters.

Niels Peter Emil Weywadt (1814-1883) was the manager of Örum & Wulff's store in Djúpavogur. He had several children, and his eldest daughter, Nicoline (1848-1921), was the first woman in Iceland to study sculpture in Copenhagen. She also studied geology and, at Teigarhorn, there is a collection of unique gemstones. Nicoline managed her late father's estate and built a photography shed next to the house, where she pursued her craft. She was the most talented photographer in the country, and her collection of glass plate negatives and various photographic equipment is preserved in the National Museum. The house was inhabited until 1988.